Sutter Health Plus Network Hospitals Recognized for Maternity, Patient Safety Efforts 

Sep 7, 2023 | 2023, Quality

Sutter Health Plus network hospitals consistently achieve some of the lowest cesarean section (C-section) rates in California. Recently, 12 network hospitals were recognized by the California Health and Human Services Agency (CalHHS), in partnership with Cal Hospital Compare, for their success in reducing cesarean births among first-time moms with low-risk pregnancies.

Four network hospitals also earned statewide honors for patient safety. The 2023 Maternity Care and Patient Safety Honor Rolls are part of a series of quality recognitions from the state.

2023 Maternity Honor Roll Hospitals

The Sutter Health Plus network has 12 hospital campuses recognized in the 2023 Maternity Honor Roll:

  • Dominican Hospital
  • El Camino Hospital – Los Gatos Campus
  • Sutter’s Alta Bates Summit Medical Center – Alta Bates Campus 
  • Sutter’s California Pacific Medical Center – Van Ness Campus
  • Sutter’s Eden Medical Center 
  • Sutter’s Memorial Medical Center
  • Sutter Davis Hospital 
  • Sutter Delta Medical Center
  • Sutter Medical Center, Sacramento 
  • Sutter Roseville Medical Center
  • Sutter Santa Rosa Regional Hospital
  • Sutter Tracy Community Hospital

For some, C-sections can be the safest or only way to deliver a healthy newborn, but some patients undergo the surgery for no medical reason. When cesarean sections are not medically indicated, these procedures can expose both parent and baby to potentially avoidable risks. The Maternity Care Honor Roll acknowledges hospitals that have achieved — and in many cases have gone beyond — the U.S. Department of Health’s Healthy People 2030 goals to reduce national cesarean births among low-risk women with no prior births down to 23.6 percent.

2023 Patient Safety Honor Roll Hospitals
Additionally, four network hospitals were named to the 2023 Patient Safety Honor Roll for providing patients with safe care across dozens of measures:

  • El Camino Hospital – Mountain View Campus
  • Stanford Health Care Tri-Valley
  • Sutter Amador Hospital
  • Sutter Santa Rosa Regional Hospital

The Patient Safety Honor Roll uses objective, publicly available patient safety measures to evaluate hospitals across a variety of domains including hospital acquired infections, adverse patient safety events, sepsis management, patient experience and Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade.

“Improving the quality of patient care in hospitals is an ongoing process,” said CalHHS Secretary Mark Ghaly, M.D., MPH, in a press release. “These annual measurements through Cal Hospital Compare help us to applaud those hospitals doing excellent work and show where improvement is needed.”

Cal Hospital Compare is an independent, non-profit organization that rates California hospitals and focuses on quality and performance information to help consumers make informed medical decisions and improve the healthcare system.

For more details on the 2023 Honor Rolls, visit the Cal Hospital Compare website.