Sutter Health Plus Network Hospitals Awarded Spring 2024 ‘A’ Hospital Safety Grades from Leapfrog Group

May 2, 2024 | 2024, Quality

Seven Sutter Health Plus network hospitals received an “A” Hospital Safety Grade from The Leapfrog Group, a national nonprofit focused on patient safety. An additional nine hospitals in the network earned a “B” grade for prioritizing patient safety and helping protect patients from preventable harm and errors.

Network hospitals earning an “A” grade include:

  • El Camino Hospital – Los Gatos
  • El Camino Hospital – Mountain View
  • Mills-Peninsula Medical Center
  • Novato Community Hospital
  • Sequoia Hospital – Redwood City
  • St. Joseph’s Medical Center
  • Sutter Santa Rosa Regional Hospital

Network hospitals earning a “B” grade include:

  • Alta Bates Summit Medical Center – Alta Bates campus
  • California Pacific Medical Center – Mission Bernal campus
  • California Pacific Medical Center – Van Ness campus
  • Dominican Hospital
  • Stanford Health Care Tri-Valley
  • Sutter Auburn Faith Hospital
  • Sutter Davis Hospital
  • Sutter Roseville Medical Center
  • Sutter Tracy Community Hospital

The Leapfrog Group, an independent national watchdog organization, assigns an “A,” “B,” “C,” “D” or “F” grade to general hospitals across the country based on more than 30 national performance measures reflecting the systems hospitals have in place to prevent harm, errors, accidents, injuries and infections.

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is the only hospital ratings program based exclusively on hospital prevention of medical errors and harm to patients. The grading system is peer-reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public. Grades are updated twice annually, in the fall and spring.

To see full grade details, visit