Sutter Health Plus Network Hospitals Awarded Spring 2023 ‘A’ Hospital Safety Grades from Leapfrog Group

May 11, 2023 | 2023, Quality

Seven Sutter Health Plus network hospitals received an “A” Hospital Safety Grade from The Leapfrog Group, a national nonprofit focused on patient safety. An additional eight hospitals in the network earned a “B” grade for prioritizing patient safety and helping protect patients from preventable harm and errors. The new grades reflect overall hospital performance from late 2021 and all of 2022—when new variants continued to emerge during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Network hospitals earning an “A” grade include:

  • California Pacific Medical Center – Mission Bernal campus
  • El Camino Hospital – Los Gatos
  • El Camino Hospital – Mountain View
  • Mills-Peninsula Medical Center
  • Sequoia Hospital – Redwood City
  • Sutter Medical Center, Sacramento
  • Sutter Roseville Medical Center

    Network hospitals earning a “B” grade include:

    • Eden Medical Center
    • Novato Community Hospital
    • St. Joseph’s Medical Center
    • Sutter Auburn Faith Hospital
    • Sutter Davis Hospital
    • Sutter Santa Rosa Regional Hospital
    • Sutter Solano Medical Center
    • Sutter Tracy Community Hospital

    The Leapfrog Group, an independent national watchdog organization, assigns an “A,” “B,” “C,” “D” or “F” grade to general hospitals across the country based on more than 30 national performance measures reflecting the systems hospitals have in place to prevent harm, errors, accidents, injuries, and infections.

    The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is the only hospital ratings program based exclusively on hospital prevention of medical errors and harm to patients. The grading system is peer-reviewed, fully transparent, and free to the public. Grades are updated twice annually, in the fall and spring.

    To see full grade details, visit